Missouri Filing Information
This information is provided as a courtesy only. This information is not intended to give or replace legal advice.
When we receive your information we will forward your case to one of our Missouri paralegals for processing. Missouri requires all family law cases to be filed on court approved forms which our paralegals use for all Missouri divorces.
RESIDENCY REQUIREMENTS AND WHERE TO FILE:
One spouse must be and have been a resident of Missouri for least 90 days prior to filing for divorce.
The divorce should be filed in the county where either spouse resides.
A decree of dissolution will not be granted until at least 30 days has passed since the filing of the petition.
No-Fault is the only ground for dissolution of marriage in Missouri.
One of the parties may file for a legal separation under the following grounds:
Abandonment for six months;
Separation 12 months before filing the petition;
Spousal behavior that the other spouse can not reasonably be expected to live with;
Living separate and apart continuously for 24 months.
SIMPLIFIED DIVORCE :
Both parties can file a joint petition for dissolution of marriage
If the parties cannot agree on property division, the court will decide based on equitible distribution.
The parties can agree and sign a Marital Settlement Agreement which will stipulate how the marital property shall be divided.
Parties can agree on child custody, either sole custody or joint custody. If the parties cannot agree, the court will decide what is in the best interest of the minor children.
Parties may agree on child support. If they cannot agree on child support, the court will decide using the Missourii child support guidelines. The court will calculate child support and include costs for heath and dental insurance, child care, and extraordinary needs for the children.
All family law cases must be filed on state mandated forms. We use these forms for all packages.
Three Easy Steps
Step One- We will prepare all of the necessary documents for your divorce, legal separation, or annulment.
Step Two- You will sign and notarize the documents along with your spouse (if doing an uncontested divorce) and make two copies of each form.
Step Three- File them with your local court clerk (we offer complete, step by step instructions and also offer these instructions online for easy access)
Order Your Missouri Divorce Package Now $99.95
Have Questions? Live Help Available Now
(c) 2014 Divorce Papers Express. All Rights Reserved.