Mississippi Filing Information

This information is provided as a courtesy only. This information is not intended to give or replace legal advice.

When we receive your information we will forward your case to one of our Mississippi paralegals for processing. Missouri requires all family law cases to be filed on court approved forms which our paralegals use for all Mississippi divorces.

Mississippi Divorce

RESIDENCY

One spouse must be and must have been a resident of Mississippi for least 6 months.

The divorce should be filed in the county where either spouse resides.

GROUNDS

No-Fault: Irreconcilable differences.

Impotence;

Adultery;

Imprisonment;

Alcoholism and/or drug addiction;

Confinement for incurable insanity for at least 3 years before the divorce is filed;

Wife is pregnant by another at the time of marriage without husband's knowledge;

Willful desertion for at least 1 year;

Cruel and inhuman treatment;

Spouse lacked mental capacity at the time of the marriage;

Incest;

Marriage to some other person at the time of the current marriage. In addition, an affidavit must be filed stating that there is no collusion between the spouses.

PROPERTY DISTRIBUTION:

Each party will retain any property that is titled to that person. In the event that the parties have jointly titled property, the property will be divided by equitible distritbution.

The parties can sign a Marital Settlement Agreement which stipulates property division, in the event that the parties cannot agree, the court will decide.

Child Issues

Parties can agree on child custody, either sole custody or joint custody. If the parties cannot agree, the court will decide what is in the best interest of the minor children.

An older child may decide which parent he or she wishes to reside with.

Parties may agree on child support. If they cannot agree on child support, the court will decide using the Mississippi child support guidelines. The court will calculate child support and include costs for heath and dental insurance, child care, and extraordinary needs for the children.

All family law cases must be filed on state mandated forms. We use these forms for all packages.

Order Your Mississippi Divorce Package Now $99.95

 

 

 

 

 

Have Questions? Live Help Available Now

 

(c) 2014 Divorce Papers Express. All Rights Reserved.